Oh. My. GAWD.
A teenage girl is whining about something? Say it isn’t so! Is this real life?

Yep, I’m about to start complaining about the cruel injustices of my privileged American life. Buckle up. 😛

***

MANGA.

I read it constantly, as I’ve said before in multiple posts. Most of what I read is Shounen(Shonen), as in, made for boys around the age of 12.  They’re just more worthwhile in my opinion, as the girl counterpart, Shoujo(Shojo), is filled with too much gush and not enough kicking.

But what bugs me about Shounen is how the girls are portrayed. More often than not, the relationships in these particular mangas are not blatant. Let’s face it, little boys don’t really start wanted to read about romance. No biggie, my writermind will serve up some fanfiction that can most definitely fill the void.

But the girls in Shounen are especially…well… annoying. They whine and complain almost constantly, usually serving to make stupid comments and act as damsels in distress. Even when they are given the ability to defend themselves, they nearly always need to be rescued by a male heroine. In shounen, the girls always care too much about romance and too much about their appearance. Honestly, if you’re about to fight some guy, the way your hair is styled shouldn’t be your first concern.

To make things even more frustrating, they are drawn completely unrealistically. Most mangakas (manga artist) even include the measurements of the main female characters, penning them as 37-21-33″ (Nami – One Piece) 37-23-36″ (Lucy, Fairy Tale) 38E-24-34″ (Orihime, Bleach).

Honestly, I don’t even think it’s possible to have that small of a waist yet gigantic boobs. I don’t think the mangakas realize how painful that would be – seriously, plenty of my friends have C’s or D’s and complain about back pain and how it hurts to run.

S0, just to sum up this rant: Shonen manga makes most females moronic, helpless, tiny and huge-breasted. I assume that’s because that would be the “ideal” female.

Well guys, (you too mangaka’s) good luck finding someone that fits that profile without having implants, back problems, and waaay out of your league(: